Beach Bicycling Bucket List

I don’t really have a Bucket List per se, but if I did another item would be checked off. Bicycling on the beach! How, in my many years of bicycling, have I never done this?

We rode on the roads in the Padre Island National Seashore the first day but it was hot! I know; boo hoo. The second day we decided to ride along the beach and take advantage of the breezes and cooler air. What an experience! We enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay another day so we could ride in the other direction. The sand is hard packed, the gulls and herons plentiful and the quiet all encompassing, except for the wind and the ocean waves crashing. We are parked between the dunes but some folks park right on the beach. They are few and far between so not crowded at all. We’re not really ready to take the bus out onto the beach. Like Mexico, some day we will, but just not now.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 30 miles of riding. At some point I wanted to ride to the end of the island but it is about 70 miles.

Jim rides the beach south.

Jim rides the beach south. This is low tide. 

We were staying over for Game Seven. Unfortunately, this didn't work.

We were staying over for Game Seven. Unfortunately, this didn’t work.

DSC_1001

DSC_1004

They grow 'em big down here.

They grow ’em big down here.

DSC_0995

Mackerel for dinner

Mackerel for dinner

Drying my feet so I could put my shows back on.

Drying my feet so I could put my shoes back on.

Beach selfie. My, what long arms I have!

Beach selfie. My, what long arms I have!

Beach riding makes you happy. Also hungry!

Beach riding makes you happy. Also hungry!

IMG_6934
When we got back to the bus, we took Carmella for her second successful walkabout. She is getting pretty good. Doesn’t stay out long, and knows where the door is when she wants back in.

Barbara and George

Barbara and George

We also met Barbara and George of Harry’s Travels. They are three years into full-timing and travel with their small gorilla, Harry and their four dogs! I thought we were crazy for having three cats! We always enjoy enjoy meeting others who have ditched all the stuff and hit the road. See where Harry Travels here. We are leaving tomorrow or we would enjoy spending more time with these two. Maybe down the road…

This is Harry

This is Harry

And these are the four dogs they travel with!

And these are the four dogs they travel with!

More pics on Flickr.

 

One comment on “Beach Bicycling Bucket List

Leave a Reply

