Mid Winter Update

I can’t believe we are at the end of February already! Time flies when you’re having fun. We have been here three months already and have another one coming up.

Jim has settled into practicing and playing with the band they started up last year. They are really getting good! Jim’s baritone ukulele, rhythm, bass and lead guitars and percussion. After their last very fun performance, Jim said people came up to them and said “You sound like a real band!”

Ed of the band found out that we have a celebrity in our park. William Florian, former lead singer of the New Christy Minstrels is in the Valley this winter, performing shows every evening practically. We went to see him at a nearby park and some people from our park got up to sing with him. That was super fun. Then Sue from our park joined him on stage and sang a beautiful version of Leavin’ on a Jet Plane.

William has a great stage presence, easy and fluid. He has been generously working with the band on timing and all matters musical. You can really tell the difference. William played in the last set of the latest show and they rocked the house. No pics from that but here are Jim, William and Ed.
img_4324
I got to “walk” and play with two very cute kitties while a friend here had to go back to Boston for a couple weeks. Buster and Betsy are 9 month old fluffballs who are friendly and approachable, exactly opposite of our cats. I also deadheaded the petunias.

img_4179

Buster

img_4316

Betsy

img_4400
It wasn’t quite this hot but it did get up to 100 degrees this week.
The weather has been great for swimming laps and playing water volleyball. My volleyball is mostly on hold for now after I “sprained” my finger playing. It hurt like hell so I went to the commercial emergency room where they X-rayed it, which took about five minutes. It kinda got bent a little bit more. And of course it was my middle finger. It feels like it is still jammed. I can still swim laps and practice yoga  though. And go to Happy Hour, of course.

img_4450 img_4452
I was there a total of four hours and the X-ray and the doctor pulling on it and taping it up was the treatment I got. And a prescription for ibuprofen. Whut? Besides the waiting room full of sick people, the worst part? When we got the bill the total was $2800! I went on the last day of the year with our old insurance. There was no itemization, no explanation. Couldn’t even talk to a real person on the phone. Please don’t tell me that America has the best health care system in the world.

There is never a lack of things to do here. All sorts of activities and you can do as much or as little as you want. We have attended three amateur theatre productions so far featuring talented people from the park. I always figure somebody has to be the audience.

One night last week another neighbor came by and said since it was a clear night that her husband was going to set up his “big” telescope. It was big, like seven feet tall! It is a refraction mirrored scope. We got to view Venus, Pliedes and its nebula along with a few other formations. Tom was very knowledgeable and informative. Sort of like a flash mob to sky gaze. It was fabulous and I hope we do that again.

img_4386

Steve in the mirror

img_4441img_4384
The kitties have settled into their winter routine. We take them out a couple times a day and they go to the park across the street. They even know, “Let’s go to the park.” When the wind is blowing hard it is good cat control; they stick close to the bus.

Our other neighbors have a lovely garden that I get to take care of when they are at their place in Mexico. It is an oasis of blooms, hummingbirds and birds. They also grow orchids and I get to watch over them too. They are blooming brilliantly this week.

When I went to see the orchids, one of my favorite pups was there, Maisey! She gets so excited. So I took her picture too.
dsc_9149

When I see an interesting sky I work on my Layered Skies project. A recent full moon. With my phone.

img_4085_5_6_7

Straight shot

img_4085_6_7_8_9

Three layers

I get work on the magazine done even though it is so nice outside. I have to admit, when it’s 100, I don’t mind staying in. My compact “office” works just fine.
DSC_1085
We’ve been to the beach and are going to Mexico this week. Mardi Gras is coming up with body painting, a parade, music and a food fest. Life is good.

Gotta go, almost time for Happy Hour.

 

 

Leave a Reply

