The Total Solar Eclipse

We are not known for planning our trips very far ahead; usually just a few days. This year we had a couple of destinations in mind; Pennsylvania in June and the total solar eclipse in Mid Missouri in August. We just kinda wander around in between, visiting friends and riding bike trails.

We planned to be at Marni and Eric’s a year ahead for the eclipse. Eclipse glasses, check. Solar filter for my camera, check. Jim built me a custom solar filter for my DSLR and I went out a day ahead to practice a little. First I discovered that my tripod would not point the camera straight up enough into the sky. It just wouldn’t lean back enough. I improvised using my selfie stick as a tripod leg and got a good working arrangement. All ready for the party and friends on the 21st.

The 21st dawned clear and hot. Friends Doc and J came from the Lake of the Ozarks to howl at the moon with us.
IMG_0227

These are all SOOC (straight out of camera)

Before…DSC_0547
Just beginning…
DSC_0550DSC_0553
A few clouds moved through… Go away clouds!DSC_0565DSC_0605DSC_0630
Almost complete totality…DSC_0653
Totality! Solar filter comes off!DSC_0657DSC_0665
And the Diamond Ring! I got it!DSC_0671
Moving away, solar filter back on.DSC_0677DSC_0700

After this picture the clouds moved in and obscured the rest. We were thrilled that we got to see almost the whole three hours up to this point! What a fantastic experience!

6 comments on “The Total Solar Eclipse

  1. Super super cool amazing photos!! How did you do it? I haven’t talked to you guys for a long time, but I’m still in Mexico and well and growing and learning and expanding! Thanks for sharing these beautiful pics. What an amazing event! Love and hugs… Reef

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

